Weird and wonderful Warbike

David McCallum, an artist I had never heard of until I found this link earlier in the week has created some strangely lovely music by turning ‘wireless network activity into sound’. This is what he says about the project:

Did you know that almost anywhere that you go in a city you’ll be sharing space with someone’s private wireless computer network? All of their personal communication—e-mail, love messages, bank passwords, credit card numbers, and bizarre surfing habits—will be passing through your body without your awareness. Who are they, and how do you feel about sharing space with their personal life?

The Warbike turns this wireless network activity into sound. As you cycle the streets, you’ll hear the activity of this invisible communications layer that permeates our public spaces. Who knew that so much was going on?

Click here to hear. I love this project!

2 thoughts on “Weird and wonderful Warbike

  1. Emily Barton

    Maybe your original green card got stuck in some ugly Republican’s body as it was trying to pass through wirelessly and unnoticed? (Sorry. That’s a hideous thought, isn’t it? But I bet it would have made beautiful music if it hadn’t gotten stuck).

    P.S. Very, very cool stuff! (Just when I was in one of my “I hate anything electronic” moods, after fighting with some odd button I’d pushed on my new cell phone that wouldn’t seem to allow me to do anything but tape record myself).

  2. Becky

    That is a pretty hideous thought. Thanks for sharing…

    See the balance – someone does something good with technology, to balance out the actions of the person who designed your phone so badly that you can’t figure it out.

Leave a Reply

