More new books

Up to Northampton again, where we visited bookshops and records shops and came home with quite a haul. I am blameless in all this, because no one in their right minds would take me to a used bookstore and expect me to come out empty-handed. Thus I am a mere twig on the seas of book fate.

  • Lady Audley’s Secret – Mary Elizabeth Braddon (Dorothy’s fault)
  • The Faerie Queene – Edmund Spenser (Emily’s fault)
  • Frost in May – Antonia White (read this whole quartet many years ago and have forgotten everything about it; this purchase is also Dorothy’s fault, I think)
  • Howard’s End – E M Forster (read this a few times years ago but one can’t have too much Forster)
  • Dionysus Writes: The Invention of Theatre in Ancient Greece – Jennifer Wise (handed to me by my husband who knows I will read jump at anything with ‘Dionysus’ in the title because of my low-burning ambition to get back to studying).

But I did resist Burton’s Anatomy of Melancholy, because even I was shocked at the size of the pb edition. I would have to spend a couple of months at the gym paying far more attention to the weights to be able to carry that on the train. Have any of you lot read it?

And from the record store:

Walking back to Clarksville – Page and Plant

Manic Nirvana – Robert Plant

Discography – The Pet Shop Boys

and whatever the new Springsteen album is called. From which it may be discerned that most of the music I like is at least 20 years old. I mentioned this fact to my sister-in-law while in the shop and a lank-haired youth nearby said ‘Don’t worry, all the music I like is 20 years old too.’ Alas, I fear he fails to realise the difference it makes when the music was both released and attained classic status in your own lifetime.

6 thoughts on “More new books

  1. Dorothy W.

    I haven’t read Frost in May, but I do own a copy and may have written about wanting to read it. I haven’t read Burton, but I’ve been wanting to for a while. I just learned it’s 1,392 pages — yeah, that’s a lot.

  2. Eva

    I loved Lady Audley’s Secret! And Howard’s End. 🙂 But despite Emily’s great posts, The Faerie Queen still terrifies me to no end.

  3. bloglily

    I have gone so far as to locate my ancient copy of the Faerie Queene. But I’m not sure I’ll go anywhere further.

    As for old music, after listening to the nothing but the new Bruce Springsteen album over the course of the entire drive from San Francisco to Santa Barbara last weekend (a drive that takes between 5 and 6 hours), I’ve decided I like it very much. I forget this about music — that sometimes you have to listen to a CD many times before you get it.

  4. ZoesMom

    You are definitely blameless in your book-buying. I would have been shocked if you had come home without books.

    Ooh maybe I have to re-read Howard’s End this year. I love that book.

  5. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Dorothy – I think you did mention Frost in May, and that is what reminded me of it. I admit to still being tempted by Anatomy of Melancholy. Perhaps that’s a challenge, when everyone is finished with Gaddis and Spenser…

    Eva – I am really looking forward to Lady Audley’s Secret, and it’s about time I went through Forster again. Reading the Woolf biogs last year rekindled my interest in their whole group.

    Bloglily – I am thinking of taking it a book at a time with the Faerie Queene, rather than thinking I must read the lot in one go. That may help. If not, then in full guilt free mode, I shall abandon it! As for Bruce, only one listen of the new CD so far and it requires further attention.

    ZM – Tell me when you re-read it and I will too, then we can talk about it!

  6. Emily Barton

    You’re absolutely right: not your fault at all if someone even so much as mentions a used bookstore and expects you to stay empty-handed. Books and music in New England. I can’t think of a more perfect day. Haven’t read Anatomy of Melancholy, but more trips to the gym in order to be able to read it doesn’t sound too appealing. Looking forward to hearing what you think of FQ.

Leave a Reply

