TBR

This is my current TBR shelf, nicely restocked after a visit to the local library sale a couple of weeks ago. That’s not a bad stack for me, since until this year’s decision to buy all the books I wanted, I rarely had unread books kicking around. I used to buy at the same rate I consumed, and did an awful lot of re-reading to absorb the spare time. This lot will have to wait until I finish Austerity Britain 1945-51, which I started on the train this morning and which I’m finding utterly absorbing. Not including The Faerie Queene, they should be enough to keep me going for 6-8 weeks.

TBR

  • The Guermantes Way – Marcel Proust. To continue my gradual progress through Proust. I defer reading him and then really enjoy the books once I get started.
  • Literature from the Axis of Evil – Writing from Iran, Iraq, North Korean and other Enemy Nations (from Emily, and I have read some of this but not enough to count it as ‘read’)
  • Green Mansions – W H Hudson
  • Hard Boiled Sentimentality – Leonard Cassuto. Background reading for bookclub.
  • The Village – Marghanita Laski. Newly arrived from Persephone today. There should be another couple in the post, too.
  • The Balkan Trilogy – Olivia Manning
  • Mountolive – Lawrence Durrell
  • Aspects of the Novel – E M Forster
  • Howards End – E M Forster
  • The Documents in the Case – Dorothy L Sayers
  • Frenchman’s Creek – Daphne du Maurier. Listened to this not so long ago, so not quite ready for the print version yet. Might save this for another rainy afternoon, with tea and Jaffa Cakes.
  • The Faerie Queene – Edmund Spenser. I made a truly pathetic start on this but I will read it eventually.
  • Bloodchild – Tim Bowler. Snaffled from the proof copy shelf at work.
  • Three by Tey – Josephine Tey. Technically, I’ve read all these before, but not this volume. So it stays here.
  • Tom’s Midnight Garden – Philippa Pearce. I’ve read this too, but I’ll read it again before re-shelving it.
  • The Scarlet Pimpernel – Baroness Orczy. Listened to this earlier in the year as well, and didn’t enjoy it very much. But for 50c in a library sale, my 15-year-old heart couldn’t resist it.
  • The Complete Short Stories of W Somerset Maugham – a handsome, 2 vol, cased hb set. For $2! I think I have all these in pb but this set was irresistible.

Oh, there’s more, on the shelf that didn’t get into the photo:

  • The Lay of the Land – Richard Ford
  • The Decline and Fall of the British Empire – Piers Brandon. I think I really will get to this, in a few months. It will round out We Danced All Night and Austerity Britain quite nicely.
  • The Greeks – H D F Kitto. I do like Kitto. So very no-nonsense.
  • Balthazar – Lawrence Durrell. There must be a third one of these kicking around somewhere, I know I’ve only stomached read the first.
  • The Essays: A Selection – Michel de Montaigne. I’ve dipped into these, but again not enough to class it as ‘read’.
  • Green Dolphin Street – Elizabeth Goudge
  • Pensees and The Provincial Letters – Blaise Pascal. What was I thinking?
  • The Daughter of Time – Josephine Tey
  • Quo Vadis – Henryk Sienkiewicz
  • Gentian Hill – Elizabeth Goudge
5 thoughts on “TBR

  1. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Zoesmom – Next month I will read only chicklit. Not.
    Litlove – Marghanita Laski is great, ‘Little Boy Lost’ was completely wrenching. And I also love Maugham’s short stories. The hbs may be a little unwieldy though and might end up being for show while I read the pbs!

  2. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Emily – Read it yesterday, I’ll put it on the Emily pile. Which is currently being built in my head but perhaps this weekend will move over into real life. In fact, I think I will create a ‘books to be lent’ shelf as counterpart to the ‘books borrowed’ shelf.

Leave a Reply

