An ABC meme

From the Queen, and also from Zoesmom. I’m not tagging anyone but play along if you want to. It’s always good to have a meme in reserve for those days when you are lacking in inspiration.

A – An advantage you have – being educated, and in the US, being English, and in business, not feeling the need to please everyone so that I don’t have a problem saying ‘No’.

B – Blue or brown eyes – Blue/green/grey, or so I hear. They look blue to me.

C – Chore you hate – Cleaning my bathroom. It’s really not that big a deal and not that time consuming since my bathroom is tiny, but it’s the one I really resent.

D – Dad’s name – Who?

E – Essential start of your day – washing my face at the very least.

F – Favourite colour – don’t have one, but generally I like rich tones.

G – Greatest thing you’ve ever done that made you feel really good – Completing the Breast Cancer 3-Day Walk; and finishing my MA.

H – Habit you have – gesturing with my hands a lot. Not sure if it’s a habit, I think it’s genetic.

I – Issue you hate that the world tries to make you pursue – Anything to do with ‘celebrities’.

J – Job title – Senior Online Product Development Manager. Yes, it is just a jumble of words that when taken together mean precisely nothing.

K – Kohls or Target – Target. I find Kohls depressing.

L – Living arrangements – apartment in old farmhouse in Easton, with my husband

M – Music you like – guitar based stuff with good lyrics; male angst music (Blue Nile, Ryan Adams et al); 80s British pop; country; cock rock (because I think it’s hilarious); classic crooners

Nicknames – Beck, Becks, Bex, B, Becky-Betsy, Miss C, La Cullena, Mrs H, Rbecca (ar-becca) are current. Past nicknames have included Beck-Becks, Liz and Nige.

O – Overnight hospital stay – 2 weeks when I was 12 or 13 and had a birthmark removed.

P – Pet Peeve – the use of ‘which’ instead of ‘who’ in written and spoken American English. Judging on ubiquity it seems to be accepted usage, but it never fails to make me mentally reach for the red pen.

Q – Quote that you like most – ‘History: it’s just one fucking thing after another’

R – Right or left handed – very right handed

S – Siblings – one sister, a step-sister, a step-brother

T – Time you wake up – I get up at 5.30am. I wake up around 9am.

U – Underwear – I aim for nothing that is going to show through my clothing, and never a VPL.

V – Vegetable you dislike – Peas. Nasty little blighters.

W – What makes you run late – trying to decide what to wear

X – X-rays you’ve had – for my back, once, when I trapped a nerve

Y – Yummy food you make – Pineapple upside down cake

Z – Zoo animal – I don’t think I have ever been to a zoo, certainly not that I remember. Unless it’s one with a strong captive breeding programme for endangered species that aims to re-establish them in the wild, I’m not remotely interested.

10 thoughts on “An ABC meme

  1. Emily Barton

    Ever noticed how MS Word will try to correct your “who” and make it a “which,” when that is completely wrong? And it sounds like you need to visit the Belize Zoo — I’d be happy to plan a Girl’s Weekend there!

  2. Judd Corizan

    Hi Becky-

    I’m Judd Corizan and I am the administrator for the blog Sunday Stealing. Every week we search the blogosphere and steal someone’s meme. This week we stole yours. We give you full credit, of course and provide a link back to your blog. We are the most popular Sunday meme on the internet. We have 50 some players who do our memes. In fact we invite you to join us in future weeks. We have a great bunch of bloggers playing, who comment on each other’s memes every week! A lot of our previous “victims of our theft” are now weekly players. It usually publishes between 3 PM Saturday afternoon (EDT) to Sunday at 12 AM (EDT) Thanks a lot! Have a great weekend!

  3. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Emily – I never have noticed that, but probably because I don’t use Word’s spelling or grammar tools. They are too annoying! Belize Zoo, you say? I might be prepared to go to Belize…

    Judd – Take the meme by all means!

    Courtney – Visible Panty Line.

  4. Pingback: Thoms Place 4 Well Whatever… » Sunday Stealing – The ABC Meme

  5. Pingback: The ABC Meme « live a strong life | fight a good fight

  6. Pingback: Thoms Place 4 Well Whatever… » Sunday Stealing

  7. Giles Palfreyman

    Well Becky, what a privilage to read your ‘blog’, indeed it is the first blog I have ever read. I’ve often thought of doing one…. anyways…..
    How cool to have an advantage bestowed upon you by nothing more than where you were born! Maybe I should move to the US too!
    Celebritisim – it’s more of a disabilitating disease than anything else, methinks.
    What is Kohls??
    Totally agree with your pet peeve, but I would strongly recomend you join me in the general (and totally unreasonable – I hasten to add) distaine and loathing I have of people who say the letter H with a ‘Huh’ sound at the front instead of the correct phonetic prenouncing, ‘Aitch’! Am I officially anal?! And also does that work with the American vernacular.
    By the way Beck – I can’t spell for toffee and this doesn’t have a spellcheque.
    For ‘ModernMom’ – Blighter – old English expression, a way of belittling and dismissing of an undesirable anoyance. One could imagine a 1940’s British Army officier type with the ubiqutous handle-bar moustashe, and would be found in conjunction with the addition of the word, ‘What?’ at the end of the sentence. To this typically yesteyear English genre of spoken English and with the ‘british army’ conection one may well hear the phrase, ‘stiff upper lip’. Hence as an example:
    ‘Well chaps another wave of doodle bugs coming, little blighters, come on chaps, stiff upper lip, what?’.

    Aren’t stereotypes great, where would we be without them? Talking of stereotype’s, how did the film ‘Borat’ go down in the US?

    Cheers, Giles

  8. Pingback: sunday stealing – caught again — Sassy Irish Lassie

Leave a Reply

