TBR update

The books are stacking up, just as I like to see them. Last week was a slow one because the humidity meant I wasn’t sleeping, so I was tired on the train. I listened to Bath Tangle, by Georgette Heyer, but didn’t get any visual reading done only managed a couple of quick Colin Cotterills otherwise. So this is what’s up:

Riddley Walker – Russell Hoban. About the eponymous Riddley, set in a post-apocalyptic, illiterate society, written in phonetically spelled dialect. A Slightly Foxed recommendation.

Tigana – Guy Gavriel Kay

The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins. Bookclub pick (and a damn good selection)

The Crow Road – Iain Banks. It’s been years since I read this, so time to revisit Banks.

The Complete Midshipman Bolitho – Alexander Kent. Can Kent stand in for O’Brien? Seems unlikely but I’ll give him a go.

Daphne – Justine Picardie. An LT Early Reviewers copy, sort of about Daphne du Maurier. I’m a bit worried it might go all ‘Possession’ on me (researcher finding literary correspondence some years later, ring any bells, anyone?).

7 thoughts on “TBR update

  1. litlove

    I read Daphne a couple of months ago and enjoyed it a great deal. It’s written in a lovely, flowing, accessible style. Some reviewers found the third strand about a young researcher in an unhappy marriage a bit limp compared to the other plot lines, but I actually liked all of it. Ian Banks is someone I’m sort of tempted to read but then never actually do. I’ll be interested to read your review. Great books!

  2. Susan

    I have to read Tigana! you don’t want to know how many years I have had this book on my shelf! Yet it’s gotten good reviews, and some fantasy readers class it their favourite Kay book. Let us know!…..lol I will get around to my copy one day.

  3. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Litlove – That’s reassuring. Could be a good Sunday read, then.

    Susan – I’ll let you know. I only heard of it via a link you posted, so you are indirectly responsible for my purchase!

  4. Emily Barton

    Please let me know how Daphne is. I’m interested (especially since I’ve just decided I will reread Jamaica Inn in October when all my reading centers around celebrating Halloween).

  5. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Emily – Well, I gave up on Daphne, I’m sorry to say. And I was just about to explain why when I realised I could write it all in an actual letter.

  6. Dalia

    I love the Crow Road. And the mini-series the BBC made from it remains my favorite adaption of a book for tv (after Pride & Prejudice, of course). I saw it in Dublin in ’96 was completely hooked. The mini-series made me go out and get the book and was never disappointed. Let me know how it goes when you reread it!

  7. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Dalia – Oh, I liked the Crow Road this time round too, although not as much as I did when I first read it. I haven’t seen the mini-series but it was supposed to be excellent. I’ll have to try to get it on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

