Notes from the motherland

First observations on being back in Blighty, the life changing event I am slowly processing. It’s summer, it’s the World Cup, it’s Wimbledon. You couldn’t ask for a better week in which to adjust.

  1. Now that’s what I call a lovely summer’s day. Blue skies, sunshine, no humidity, comfortable enough to walk around in without breaking into a sweat at the mere thought.
  2. Everything is fucking expensive. Everything.  Fairfield County and Manhattan are both cheaper places to live.
  3. I miss Target!
  4. The atmosphere in the pub when England are playing reasonably well is brilliant.  It almost makes up for the fact that the wine isn’t properly chilled.
  5. I don’t know where to buy stuff from anymore. I was looking for a water bottle and ended up in Blacks paying almost 20 quid for a Sigg. See #3.
  6. The coffee bar at work has far too tempting an array of cakes. Although so far, the flapjack tasted of fish (or whatever I imagine fish tastes like, based on the smell), and the (gluten free) banana cake was a bit dusty.
  7. Getting paid every 4 weeks instead of every 2 weeks is something of an adjustment. Right now, July 21 seems a very long way away.
  8. It’s good being part of a team again at work. In my former job, colleagues would introduce me and say ‘I don’t know what she does, but she’s very busy’. And it was true, my role was vague and difficult to explain and there was only me doing it. Now I feel as though I am actually part of a department and I’ll have a couple of people reporting to me.
  9. As I hoped, I’m really enjoying being able to walk or get the bus.  Bonus in that I can walk by the river. I definitely want a car (coming home on the bus this evening with two bags and my drycleaning was a pain) but I can wait to get the Audi TT of my dreams.
  10. I wish I had brought my bike on the ‘plane, although the reality of that would have made it even more difficult getting from the airport to the flat. It would be great to go cycling, though.
7 thoughts on “Notes from the motherland

  1. bookgazing

    Glad you are having a great time being back (you couldn’t have picked a better time to return weather wise)A friend from Canada said she’s reconsidering moving here permenantly because it’s so expensive and the pay is poor, but I’m not sure you notice it until you go away and come back.

  2. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Expensive, definitely, pay ok. Finally. But I really didn’t notice the exorbitant cost until I went away and came back, and now I just have to stop thinking about things in $ terms, since they are no longer relevant. But it is astonishing (and quite frightening) the way hard cash dwindles into loose change.

  3. Debby

    I envy your newly-improved access to decent tea, books, and BBC mysteries. We will not even speak of sharing the same country with Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen, the patriarchs of cycling journalism. But I guess all good things come with a (higher) price.

    Glad to hear you are settling in OK.

  4. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Debby – I am enjoying being able to get a pot of lapsang souchong for the asking. Theoretically I do have access to British television; in reality, my friend’s TV-DVD-unknown other box set up is so complicated that I have never been able to figure it out. And when I get my own place, I don’t plan to bother with a TV at all.

    Um, I have never heard of those cycling chaps…

  5. emily barton

    Sounds like you are adjusting beautifully. Soon you will be cringing if you catch yourself using an Americanism (or using them merely to get reactions and not accidentally).

  6. Debby

    Becky,

    The only TV we seem to watch has the word Inspector in the title, as in Inspector Lynley and (Inspector, in America) Lewis. Unless we are watching bike races, like the Tour de France, in which case you will hear Phil and Paul doing the commentating. That is how I know that somehow the world, in all its chaos, will still be all right.

    To crazy cycling fans like us, Phil and Paul need no last names. Like Sting or Madonna. 🙂

Leave a Reply

