Top 5 fictional men

A shameless theft from Litlove, except that I’ve only managed 5 because my books are not to hand and I’d have to browse them for reminders. But it has been a long held belief of mine that all the best men are fictional and this lot can always be relied on between the book covers. As any good bookslut knows.

James Bond – the one and only 007, especially when Daniel Craig is on the screen; but above all, the Bond of the books. Cool, intelligent, calm under fire, loves ’em and leaves ’em but I blame that on the treachery of Vesper Lynd, and then his heartbreak when Tracey gets killed.

Colonel Brandon – I never really fell for Edward because I always thought he was such a sap to get caught in horrible Lucy’s coils. If anything, I think I Marianne gets better than she deserves. Brandon seems such a good, solid, reliable chap, quietly heartbroken. And then, throw Alan Rickman into the mix as well, and really, I wouldn’t say no.

Peter Wimsey – Oh yes, one of the nervous, intelligent, sensitive ones. A well stocked library, an excellent wine cellar and an expectation, if not demand, that one would use one’s brain. Plus, just when you think Peter is all brains himself, he turns out to be unexpectedly athletic (picture his antics as Harlequin in Murder Must Advertise), and passionate: expensive ex-mistresses scattered across Europe. All that, and Bunter to boot. Life would be so well ordered that one could just get on with the fun stuff.

Richard Sharpe – Ok, so yes, an inarticulate bit of rough, but there has to be a token bloke in uniform on the list, doesn’t there? At least he’s smart, except when it comes to women. Poor Richard. Not for the long term, perhaps. On the other hand (colour me cynical) who is?

Damerel – Far and away my favourite of Heyer’s heroes, and that’s facing some pretty stiff competition in the cynical and slightly disreputable categories. Certainly doesn’t hurt that he’s a bit of a classicist too. I can only applaud Venetia’s wise action in setting about her own social ruin so she can marry him. Because if someone quoted Shakespeare at me and then said I was enchanting, I’d be mildly interested myself.

Albert Campion – Nervous, intelligent, sensitive #2. A bit of a mystery around Campion himself too, disinherited I think? Takes the art of looking vacuous to entire new levels, but given the range of people he knows, life would certainly be interesting. Not sure about Lugg, though. He’s not exactly in the same category of gentleman’s gentleman as the inestimable Bunter.

4 thoughts on “Top 5 fictional men

  1. Nicola

    I want to re-read S&S now to remind myself of what Colonel Brandon was like and whether he could compare with the caddish but sexy Willoughby!

  2. litlove

    I love this! There is a particular pleasure in reading about a gorgeous hunk of (sometimes intellectual) manhood. All the treats and none of the drawbacks of the real thing, I’d say. Great list and I must check out Damerel as he’s a Heyer hero I don’t remember.

  3. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Nicola – Granted, Willoughby is sexy but just too weak. Colonel Brandon has suffered heroically for years; I think ending up with Marianne is poor recompense, frankly.

    Mystica – thanks for stopping by!

    Litlove – You are exactly right, particularly about the lack of drawbacks. Venetia (starring Damerel) is my favourite Heyer, I think you would like it.

Leave a Reply

