One of those who/what have you read lists

that we readerly types find almost irresistible, especially when lacking inspiration for an actual post (in my own case, not in that of Thomas At My Porch, whence I stole this.)

The Sunday Times 50 Greatest British Writers Since 1945

(There are some women on the list, I presume someone at The Times was fired over that but it’s too late now.)
1. Philip Larkin – read
2. George Orwell – read
3. William Golding – read
4. Ted Hughes – read
5. Doris Lessing -read
6. J. R. R. Tolkien  – read
7. V. S. Naipaul – I will one day, though
8. Muriel Spark – read
9. Kingsley Amis – might have done, but have him permanently confused with the other Amis and don’t care enough to disambiguate them.
10. Angela Carter – read
11. C. S. Lewis – read
12. Iris Murdoch – read
13. Salman Rushdie – haven’t read and no intention either
14. Ian Fleming – read
15. Jan Morris – read
16. Roald Dahl – read
17. Anthony Burgess – read
18. Mervyn Peake – read
19. Martin Amis – see Kingsley Amis, above
20. Anthony Powell – read
21. Alan Sillitoe – nope
22. John Le Carré – read
23. Penelope Fitzgerald – read
24. Philippa Pearce – read
25. Barbara Pym – read
26. Beryl Bainbridge – don’t think I’ve even tried
27. J. G. Ballard – read
28. Alan Garner – read
29. Alasdair Gray – started
30. John Fowles – read
31. Derek Walcott – no
32. Kazuo Ishiguro – read
33. Anita Brookner – I’m pretty sure I’ve read something by her
34. A. S. Byatt – read
35. Ian McEwan – read
36. Geoffrey Hill – no
37. Hanif Kureishi – read but will never do so again
38. Iain Banks – read
39. George Mackay Brown – read
40. A. J. P. Taylor – read; but then, he was one of my History textbooks, and that was pre-GCSE.
41. Isaiah Berlin – ought to
42. J. K. Rowling – read
43. Philip Pullman – read one. As far as I know, I remain the only person in the entire world who doesn’t like His Dark Materials.
44. Julian Barnes – read
45. Colin Thubron – don’t think so
46. Bruce Chatwin – read
47. Alice Oswald – never heard of her
48. Benjamin Zephaniah – god, no
49. Rosemary Sutcliff – read
50. Michael Moorcock – read

Anyone care to join in?

9 thoughts on “One of those who/what have you read lists

  1. bookgazing

    Oh tell me I’m not counting right and there are more than 12 women on here? I think I’ve read 13 of the authors on there, which is still my lucky number (born on 13th, you really have to embrace it and make it your friend or die on a Friday).

  2. Mr W

    Geoffrey Hill is married to my cousin! I haven’t read him, but I think that counts for half a point.

    (The Golden Compass wasn’t bad, but as a trilogy, HDM is a big fat mess)

  3. Pingback: I Submitted « Charlotte's Web

  4. Pingback: A list! | Of Books and Bicycles

  5. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Jodie – I was also born on the 13th, and I entirely agree! If my birthday happens to fall on a Friday, that trumps any superstitious nonsense.

    Mr W – that is a claim to fame! I’ve read bits of his poetry and I like it but don’t understand it.

    Charlotte – Now that you have submitted your ms, I think you get to do anything you want.

  6. Pingback: A list to ease myself back | Featherduster

  7. Emily Barton

    Ooo, I will save this one for a rainy day (which might come sometime before November this year, but I’m not counting on it). I confuse the two Amises, too, but I do know I’ve read Kingsley, because I’ve read The Green Man, which was actually quite spooky and worth reading, even if the ending was over-the-top and disappointing. I don’t ever plan to read any Rushdie, either.

  8. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Emily – Ok, I’ve never heard of The Green Man, but you make it sound good so I will go and look it up on Amazon. Am entirely put off Rushdie by how self-satisfied he always seems.

Leave a Reply

