NaBloPoMo

It’s suprising, and quite heartening, to me how little time without internet access it took to break me of my web habits. Well, that and the fact that Facebook broke Facebook with their stupid new settings. However, not all habits are bad ones, and I feel I’ve been a lazy member of the blogging world lately, barely posting, rarely reading or commenting. This is a shame for me, because I miss out.

With that in mind I thought I’d do NaBloPoMo for November,  but with a bit of a twist. I’m not going to commit to writing every day, for a perfectly mundane reason that I shall save for another day (Ha! Gather ye subjects where ye may!), but I am going to commit to some sort of daily blogging activity. I know y’all write some good stuff, and it’s time I paid attention again.

There I was, smugly congratulating myself on my Good Intentions while on the bus this morning, only to realise that I’d fallen at the first hurdle by missing a day. Sigh. I knew perfectly well it was 1 November yesterday; I knew perfectly well I wanted to *commit bloggery every day for a month. And yet, those two pieces of information failed to connect in my head in any meaningful way at all.

Truly is the path to good intentions paved with something or other that gets in the way.

*If I ever start another blog I am totally calling it ‘Committing Bloggery’.

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo

  1. Anne Camille

    Ah! Love “Committing Bloggery”. Realized reading your post that I didn’t “sign up” officially for NaBloPoMo. After I missed one day in October, I easily fell out of the habit and thought “f*ck it” for two or three other days. Unsurprisingly, the blog world didn’t explode. Nobody missed me.

  2. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Cam – The trick for me is not to beat myself up about it if I miss a day (although, missing the first day was a bit pathetic). I always figure it’s a win if I post most days.

    ZM – I’ll be stopping by!

Leave a Reply

