Birthday books

Really, not a bad haul and some daring straying from my list. My TBR pile is now gratifyingly high, and could probably keep me going for a couple of months. Hurrah!

Greenbanks – Dorothy Whipple. Which I chose myself with birthday money from the APs, whilst browsing The Book House in Thame. It’s been a while since I settled in with a Persephone.

Moonlight Mile – Dennis Lehane. From Mr W and Ms L. I galloped through it today and it was most satisfactory and wrapped up the Patrick & Angie story in a way I am pretty happy with. 

Republican Party Reptile – P.J. O’Rourke. It’s been a long time since I’ve read any O’Rourke, mostly because I do think he’s a bit of a self-important twat. Still, various bits of this have been read to me and they have been funny. One to dip in and out of, I think.

The Spirit Level: Why Equality is Better for Everyone – Richard Wilkinson and Kate Pickett. About which I know nowt, but a quick flick through reveals (a) graphs and (b) cartoons. At least I should be able to understand the cartoons… Also, I am somewhat sympathetic to a premise positing equality. 

It Must’ve Been Something I Ate – Jeffrey Steingarten. A book about food and eating from Vogue’s food critic, and again a collection of essays. So it goes on the essay shelf, obviously.

Brigadier Gerard – Arthur Conan Doyle. Who knew Conan Doyle wrote anything beyond Holmes? And, on a side note, when is the next Cumberbatch and Freeman episode hitting our screens? 

A Brief Jolly Change: The Diaries of Henry Peerless, 1891-1920. So apparently, Peerless travelled round Britain by various diverse means; the blurb promises a travelogue of a vanished world.

Of course, with all this bounty to dip into, I’m off to watch Dr Who. And did someone mention Downton?

3 thoughts on “Birthday books

  1. Andrew

    In fact, Peerless is more adventurous, as you will discover – the account of his trip to Paris is hilarious…

Leave a Reply

