Friday eye candy

Ok, yes, you got me, it’s a lazy post. But I’m easing myself back into blogging with baby steps, and at the moment I’m finding my weeks so gruelling that, come the weekend, I got nuthin’. I know, oh poor me and the hard graft of publishing. Could there be a softer option? Probably not, but balancing on the high wire of client communications is not the best job for a dedicated introvert. I feel as though I’ve run out of words by the end of the day, and I need about a month of hard reading to re-stock.

Anyways, on with the pretty, shiny things. I mean, not that I’ve found them yet but they probably will be. (Trawls teh interwebs for Nice Things.)

Actually, hat tip to my lil’ sis for this one, but I am quite partial to fox type things.normal_hola-fox-scarf

The weather just turned to proper autumn, too,  breezy and chilly but with a bracing clearness to the air. So a warm, cosy and cheerily orangey fox scarf could be just the ticket.

I can’t get into this seaon’s animal jumper thing, because, just, no. But, staying on the fox theme, look what I found at Truffle Shuffle via Domestic Sluttery. Alas, no Danny the Champion of the World t-shirt, but a Quentin Blake Fantastic Mr Fox? Oh, twist my buying arm.

Ladies_Roald_Dahl_Fantastic_Mr_Fox_T_Shirt_Print_hi_res_419_514_76

Now that the weather has turned cooler, all right thinking people will be planning how they can stay inside and not leave the house until April. I have stocked up on domestic oil and firewood, the better to create the right, toasty warm conditions for a lot of time spent reading on the sofa. I suggest Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazalet chronicles as the perfect autumn to winter reading material.

confusion

I am late to the Cazalet party, because for years I’ve been getting Howard confused with Susan Howard, who writes the sort of books I really don’t want to read. The Cazelet chronicles, on the other hand, are right up my street: a cross-generational, upper middle class family saga, including WWII and therefore a barrage of changing mores. I’m up to vol 3, Confusion, and delighted to hear that vol 5 is on its way. I might wear that fox scarf while I’m reading.

3 thoughts on “Friday eye candy

  1. Emily Barton

    I want that t-shirt (and, because you have an animal theme going here) and wondering if anyone’s ever done any Richard Scarry t-shirts. Must go see. Meanwhile, looks like I need to meet Elizabeth Jane Howard.

  2. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Emily – Who is Richard Scarry? Yes, I think you’d like Elizabeth Jane Howard. She could easily be a Persephone author.

  3. Emily Barton

    Children’s book author/illustrator I loved as a child. I found a “Lowly Worm” (one of his characters) t-shirt online yesterday, so now I’ll have to work on getting it.

Leave a Reply

