In which I distill my views on social media

I spent today at a digital content conference that focused primarily on social media. It got off to a rocky start: ‘Use Google Analytics!’ ‘You don’t say?’, which had me eyeing the door and wondering how I’d last the day. But, after that, there were some nuggets of wisdom, even if it did feel like an awful lot of panning to find them.

The words communication, conversation, engagement came up over and over. Walking back to the train, I was trying to sum up the day to myself, and I think what it all boils down to is ‘only connect’.

Everyone should just read EM Forster.

3 thoughts on “In which I distill my views on social media

  1. Andrew

    “Only connect the prose and the passion, and both will be exalted, and human love will be seen at its height. Live in fragments no longer. Only connect, and the beast and the monk, robbed of the isolation that is life to either, will die.”

  2. Susan

    I don’t suppose they talked about Twitter, did they? because I can’t wrap my head around that one. Too few words I can use there (I write longer than their average sentence)! lol plus it’s hard enough to think of things to say on Facebook. Were they talking about new things to connect, or how to get people to use what they have to connect better?

    Does getting excited to get a cell phone and learning how to text count??? lol!!

    Books are better for almost everything!

  3. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Susan – Twitter is a given, although one of the sessions did talk about a fairly well known Twitter fail on the part of a major company. It was all from a digital marketing perspective (‘cos for my new job is just that), so the rest was mixed: some on content and what makes people share it; branded content; Facebook and Twitter campaigns and how to get fans or customers engaged with the content and therefore the brand, and so on.

Leave a Reply

