In which part 1 of the vision is achieved

Hurrah for a week off tacked on to a Bank Holiday weekend! I’m enjoying this week immensely. I haven’t bothered wearing my watch since Monday, as I haven’t had anywhere to be, and that has led to that real holiday feeling of losing track of time. So far, it’s been a great balance of getting stuff done and lazing around reading or watching DVDs, with just the right amount of red wine thrown in as a treat.

I’m rubbish at down time with no plans at all, so on the list for this week were:

Go dog walking with my sister – which we did on Easter Monday, both of us surprised by the sun and inevitably, getting sunburnt. But it was a great walk, along the Thames from Tadpole Bridge to Radcot and back. I would love to get my own dog, but until such time as I restructure my life to allow me the time, I make do with occasionally walking Bailey.

Get rid of the cobwebs – the downside of the sunny weather and some time at home is that I see my house in daylight. When I looked up, it was all getting a bit Miss Haversham up in the beams, where the cobwebs were having a party. It was time for the telescopic duster and much precarious balancing on furniture and stretching at unlikely angles.

Paint bookcases – as outlined in The Vision, I have a couple of horrible laminate bookcases that I’d decided needed a revamp. I have now been introduced to the world of chalk paint, and it’s amazing stuff. It really did go over laminate with no preparation whatsoever, and now I’m looking round for what else I can paint. I’d originally planned on white paint, but when I went to the Annie Sloane store I was overwhelmed with colour choices, and ended up going with Paris Grey.

Bookcases before

Horrible laminate bookshelves

Behold the fruits of my labours! I took the opportunity to do a bit of tidying up of shelves as well, and inevitably moving the bookcases meant wiping down walls and skirting boards too, and also vacuuming up what appeared to be the local woodlice cemetery. Ick.

Bookcase during

During painting, I’ve gone all unintentionally shabby chic

Bookcase after 1

After, and in new location. Notice empty shelves. Not for long.

Bookcase after 2

I bloody hate that printer. Step 2 will be to curtain off that bottom shelf to hide it.

Clear out the shed – This is still to be done and is pending for tomorrow afternoon. I fear spiders; but, the shed is now so full of stuff thrown in hodge-podge that it’s not useful for storage any more and I can’t get to anything.

Get my bike fettled – I think this is going to fall off the list, bumped by some of the unplanned activities.

Such as…

Having a massage – I was in Oxford to get the paint, which took me to Cowley Road, which meant my route took me past Eau de Vie. So I popped in and ended up booking a massage for later that day. It was totally worth it.

Baking a simnel cake – I’d meant to do this for Easter, then forgotten, then thought I’d bake it in time to take to my sister’s on Easter Monday. Turns out, the supermarkets are shut on Easter Sunday. Astonishingly, Easter still trumps retail and who would have predicted that? So, making the cake is pencilled in for tomorrow morning.

Watching all of season 1 of Penny Dreadful – which was suddenly available to buy on DVD, so I did and now I’ve watched it. I’ll hand the DVD on to my sister and wait for season 2 to be available.

Checking over my spring/summer clothes – I wasn’t expecting the weather to be this warm, and suddenly realized that all my warm weather clothing was in storage. So now I’ve dragged it all out, and have piles for dry cleaning, giving away and recycling.

And as well as all that, I read:

  • Witches Abroad, Lords and Ladies, and Maskerade – yes, it was a bit of a minor Terry Pratchett binge but they were a threefer.
  • Anna of the Five Towns – Arnold Bennett
  • Island Summer – Tilly Culme-Seymour
  • My Brilliant Friend – Elena Ferrante
  • Astonish Me – Maggie Shipstead

And you know the best bit? I’ve still got three days left before real life kicks in again.

2 thoughts on “In which part 1 of the vision is achieved

  1. Nicola

    Loved the Ferrante. Read the Shipstead but thought it was nothing special. I’d like to read Island Summer, do you recommend it?

  2. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Island Summer was good, although I do run out of sympathy for those who can afford to take a chunk of time off while they figure out what to do with their lives.

Leave a Reply

