The Scary Bitches Book and Baking Club

So, I was out for lunch with friends last weekend, just after running my first 10k and shortly after driving my car into the back of a van on the way. It was a busy day. The 10k sucked but I made it, no one was hurt in the accident and no real damage done to either vehicle. On to lunch, which was at the fabulous Seven Stars in Dinton and over the breaded camembert we fell to discussing whether or not I should start a book club in the village.

The back story is that, having lived here for a couple of years, I still don’t know anyone in the village. This is due to me not having kids or a dog or going to church, and the village not having a pub or a shop. I found out there’s a book club and asked to join, but they’re already over-subscribed and there’s a waiting list. The friendly book club member suggested I could start a second book club by advertising in the parish newsletter.

S said ‘You should totally do that and I’d join and you could bake as well!’

I’m considering the idea, but a book club isn’t just a matter of getting a few people together to discuss books. It has to be the right people, talking about the right books at the right level for the right amount of time. It is not pouring a mahoosive glass of Chardonnay and regaling everyone with what little Crispin got up at his private day nursery and then explaining that you didn’t make it to the end of the 250 page pot boiler but you’re definitely going to soon, so ‘No spoilers, m’kay?!’

Most of the right book club people I know selfishly stayed behind in America when I moved back to England, but apparently there’s this thing you can do called ‘meeting new people’. Sounds weird and suspicious to me and I’m not clear on the vetting process. Of course, you can’t just accept anyone to join a book club, but what level of interview is considered appropriate? Multipage questionnaire, or is it ok to send a SurveyMonkey link? Is it de rigeur or faux pas to request that submissions be accompanied by a photo of the bookshelves and a copy of the TBR list?

Vexing questions indeed. Meanwhile, at least we have a book club name, and some rules:

  1. Read the book, bitch.
  2. Have a fucking opinion.

I’m not sure this will go down well with the parish newsletter.

6 thoughts on “The Scary Bitches Book and Baking Club

  1. Mr W

    I second the motion. Consider my suggestion for rule 3:
    If you can’t make the scheduled meeting, that’s too bad, but we are NOT going to reschedule on your account.

  2. quinn

    oh i want to join big time! so not just a rule, but group name ‘read the book, bitch’
    and your idea of pix of bkshelves and/or tbr list is a must and genius. if they fit the bill, they will be thrilled to that u have standards!
    my first thought..mmm…small village, already one long standing bk group….mmmm….u=newcomer to town…..i see trouble ahead…along the lines of a miss buncle.
    but u go girl…..fuck ’em if they can’t another group. and w/ a group name like that..u’ll meet the only people in the village that u would want to meet. good luck…keep us posted…quinn

  3. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Mr W – I know this’ll be a surprise, but I agree with suggested rule 3. I might amend the wording to ‘We meet at the time originally agreed. If you can’t make it, that’s your problem.’

  4. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Quinn – Yep, you’re right, it could be a sensitive village issue, which is why I’ve held off doing anything. I think I’d prefer to avoid a real life Miss Buncle scenario, at least unless/until there’s someone to rescue me from it!

Leave a Reply

