It’s a new day, it’s a new year, it’s a new me

Oh no, my mistake. Same old me. Well, two out of three ain’t bad, as Meatloaf so effectively, and indeed, affectingly, reminds us.

So, hands up who survived Christmas? I did, and even this year’s unlooked for but anticipated illness wasn’t so bad. It hit its peak on Christmas Eve, so that I basically slept the day away, but that did mean I was well enough on Christmas Day to wear my new PJs and socks and sit in front of a fire while reading. That’s my definition of a pretty good day, Christmas or otherwise.

After that, I was better and I bought more books, and so I book surfed triumphantly through the rest of the holiday period until reality bit today.

And I even survived that. Looks like it’s game on for another year.

I generally don’t make resolutions but a new year kicking off does rather prompt a bit of thinking. Also, I seem to have really, really needed that holiday, which suggests to me that the work-life balance got a bit out of whack in the last quarter of the year that was. Well, I know it did. New metric: if I consistently don’t have milk for tea, life is going to hell in a hand basket.

Consequently, I have two vague notions to launch me into 2016:

  1. I will do something productive every day. Let’s assume that like all the rest of us good corporate boys and girls, I’m always productive at work. Ahem. However, by the time I’ve done that, I’m a lot less productive at home because it’s much easier to flick endlessly back and forth between Twitter and Facebook. I’m defining ‘being productive’ pretty widely, to give myself plenty of scope. It could mean ‘cooking real food’ or ‘writing a blog post’, or ‘doing some exercise’ or ‘writing a letter’ or ‘doing that goddamn filing I was supposed to do over Christmas’. The goal is only one productive thing, because when life gets busy again, as it inevitably will do, I tend to try to over-achieve. This means I always have a ‘to do’ list in my head and I’m always measuring myself against what I’ve crossed off the list. But, as everyday life is made up of small tasks and chores if you let it be, the list never reduces and while I’m busy being busy, I don’t pet the cats or watch the sun set.
  2. I will use my brain every day. This is going to be much more difficult. For a start, I have to stop kidding myself that doing The Times Codeword counts, when it’s so easy that it clearly doesn’t. And, the Twitter/FB thing breeds a lack of concentration and a jelly brain. I’ve decided blogging falls into the brain using category because (you’ll have to trust me on this one) I do have to think about what I’m writing. And sometimes, the writing frames the thinking, which is a good and useful thing. Beyond that, I haven’t really solved the ‘how’ at all, although I could make a start with the pile of unread copies of The Economist that is threatening local domination…

Meanwhile, I wish you all well with whatever the year holds for you, dear reader, and I’d also like to start the year by saying ‘Thank you’. For the most part, I don’t know who reads this blog. There a few regulars, and some drop-ins, I think. Someone seems to have spent New Year’s Day reading a lot of it. (Who are you? Do ‘fess up!)  But whoever you all are, thanks for taking the time.

 

6 thoughts on “It’s a new day, it’s a new year, it’s a new me

  1. trish

    Using the 2 most confusing, misused words correctly ( affect & effect) in your opening is a wink to the not so desperate day to day grip (which you squarely have by the balls) but a keen observation of all that is lacking 2016; “westward leading still proceeding, guide us to our fucked up life”.

  2. thesesandwichdays

    I am still laughing from your post about Adele. That said, I find crosswords hideously difficult and what is w,orse is that everyone expects me to be good at them because I studied English as an undergraduate and in graduate school. Something about them …my brain doesn’t work the way they do. As for the new year, I am going to work on my follow through with projects, and hope to have both my kids eating fish without breading by this time next year. That is all. Happy New Year!

  3. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Trish – Thanks for reading and commenting, and good luck for 2016!

    Thesesandwichdays – Happy New Year to you, too! I can only do straightforward crosswords, not cryptic. And the codeword is more of a puzzle, where every letter is replaced by a number and you just have to figure it out. It’s more pattern recognition than anything else. Sounds as though you have sensible and manageable goals for the year!

  4. quinn

    u’re the best…yes still laughing at adele…or really often paraphrasing article…the stalking part….and have forewarded more of your blogs than anyones…such a strong clear thinking voice..thank u for these blogs…kept me sane (as u say so fabulously…u’ll have to trust me on that one)
    years ago i also decided to do one constructive thing a day….does make one so happy…the list included and actually was performed…’trimming toe nails’….and extra points if done on work time…well i had a gov’t job…what can i say….life was good.
    rock the new year amiga….and thanks
    quinn

  5. trish

    Your musing, meditation, thinking, contemplation, deliberation, pondering, reflection, rumination, introspection, daydreaming, reverie, dreaming, preoccupation, brooding (not OED but WIKI source, works in a pinch) are a delight of joyful meaningful reading to come.

  6. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Quinn – rock the new year back atcha, and thanks for all the positive comments 🙂

    Trish – nice list. Hope the blog lives up to expectations!

Leave a Reply

