What do you do?

First they came for the foreign workers. And I did not speak out, because I was not a foreign worker.
 
Who next?
 
What do you do, when your government is leading the march to racism and xenophobia, and to all intents and purposes, there is no opposition party?
What do you do, when you’re one of the 48% who did not vote for Brexit and no, you won’t let that go, and there’s no channel for discontent other than Facebook memes?
What do you when you’re disenfranchised by the current state of politics?
What do you do when the incumbent government repeatedly and unashamedly proves itself morally and ethically bankrupt?
What do you do when you assume, as a basically ok, ordinary person, that there’s a line that won’t be crossed, and then you watch that government, because they’re not my government and nothing they do is in my name or the name of any other basically ok, ordinary person, trample right across it without a backward glance?
There’s a school census now. Schools are identifying which children, yes, children, were born in this country. Parents of kids who were born here don’t even have to bother sending the form back.
Lists. Records. The banal evil of bureaucracy, and I mean evil because that is what it is.
Who next?
6 thoughts on “What do you do?

  1. Pat

    Bravo! We here in the States are suffering through the same sort of bully tactics and there doesn’t seem to be a way around it. Frankly I am frightened, but like you, I won’t back down or accept these monsters as worthy of governing this country. I have followed your blog for years, never commented, but this missive really got my attention, how DO we fight this?

  2. jasonazze

    I’ve been reading Hannah Arendt’s _The Origins of Totalitarianism_ to try to get some historical context for recent events. It has made me feel better — and worse. Also, it’s really long.

  3. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Hi Pat, thanks for commenting, and how intriguing that you’ve been reading for years. Thank you. I’m following what’s going on the in the US and I’d like to be able to say it’s unbelievable. But given the new depths that politics keeps finding on a daily basis, I simply wish you luck.

  4. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Hi Charlotte – I know. At least there’s been some back tracking but I frankly don’t find that particularly reassuring. It just means that the government can’t get quite as extreme as it wants to, yet. The intent is there and given the horrible % increase in hate crimes since Brexit, I think they’ll manufacture a mandate.

  5. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    I was thinking about reading some Arendt. Better because we’ve been here before but moved on, and worse because no one seems to have learned from that?

Leave a Reply

