The 2017 TBR dare

In a moment of madness on Twitter, I seem to have agreed to the 2017 TBR dare. The things one is persuaded to do on the spur of the moment. Look on me, children, and behold my tale of social media downfall.

The rules are actually flexible but I’m going to try to stick to a pure form. So, from 1 January 2017 to 1 April 2017, I can only read books that are already on my TBR pile. I’m including anything that Blackwell’s send me as part of their curation of my TBR list as well.

Of course, this seemed fine at the tail end of last year, when I had the concentration span of an amoeba and the TBR pile looked correspondingly healthy. Now? Not so much. I’ve had to trawl the shelves, and come up with:

  1. Isaac Asimov, Foundation & Empire – there’s a bookmark partway through this, so clearly I wasn’t loving it.
  2. Isaac Asimov, Second Empire.
  3. Miklos Banffy, They Were Counted.
  4. Cees Nooteboom, Nomad’s Hotel.
  5. Benjamin Disraeli, Sybil.
  6. Elizabeth Taylor, Complete Short Stories.
  7. Samuel Richardson, Clarissa.
  8. Neal Stephenson, Quicksilver. I’ve got the rest of the Baroque trilogy sitting around unread as well, but I know I tried and failed with this one so I’m not optimistic enough to put all three on the list.

Unfortunately, Jan to March last year I read 24 books. Admittedly there are some hard hitters on this list that will definitely slow me down. It could take me a month to get through Clarissa, especially since it’s enormous and I’m not taking it out of the house. But the Asimov and the Nooteboom are the work of a couple of train journeys.

So. Either, by 1 April, I’ll have cracked the list above and have a pile of new, unread books to dive into from my moral high ground of reading smugness. I may also have a gleamingly clean house and new exercise habit if I run out of books and have to find something else to do with the rest of my time. Or, I’ll be fidgety, anxious and slightly feral,  occasionally snuffling and licking the covers of the new books I can’t yet read. Who knows?

Happy New Year, by the way!

2 thoughts on “The 2017 TBR dare

  1. lizzysiddal

    Worry not, Becky. I’m sure if you run out of TBR, we’ll devise a special exception just for you!

  2. musingsfromthesofa Post author

    Thanks, Lizzy! There are other unread books in the house, so technically I could class them as TBR in an emergency 😉

Leave a Reply

