Easter reading

‘Cos fer I have a long weekend and the only event planned is Rosencratz and Guildenstern are Dead at the Old Vic on Saturday. I saw Daniel Radcliffe in Equus on Broadway not long after he finished being Harry Potter. Richard Griffiths out-acted him simply by being there, and Daniel was rather shouty. But still, there was something. So I’m interested to see his performance on Saturday.

Until then, I have reading planned. Today I finished In the Woods, by Tana French, which I’ve read at least a couple of times before but not for a while. It was a great debut and I realised that she’s very, very good at describing those halcyon moments, the marvellous times that you want to capture and put in a bag that you can always carry with you because you know they won’t/can’t last. She does it with the evenings between Rob, Cassie and Sam in In the Woods and it’s also part of the set up for The Likeness.

Next up is Madame Solario by Gladys Huntington. This is a Persephone book that I’ve been waiting to read because Persephones are always such treats that I didn’t want to waste it on an ordinary day. I’ve been saving Mick Herron’s Spook Street for the same reason. I really want to read it but then there’ll be no more Jackson Lamb books until he writes the next one. I feel I have to keep it until I need Jackson Lamb to save the day.

Next choice is a tie between Summertime, All the Cats are Bored, by Philippe Georget and Good Clean Fight by Derek Robinson. No one does better WWI RAF than Robinson as far as I know, which of course means it’s heartbreaking. But then, French noir is also pretty tempting. The eventual choice may depend on the weather, I might keep the Georget until it’s sunny again and feels like summer.

My latest delivery from Blackwell’s was Jenny Diski’s Skating to Antarctica. It’s been on my TBR list from so far back I have no idea why, but it looks like that interesting blend of travelogue and memoir that I enjoy. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything by Diski, so this will be a first.

I think those will keep me busy but I have re-reads as back ups. Since I listened to vol 1 of A Dance to the Music of Time, I dug out Vol 2 in print. And I thought The Gone-Away World might stand up to a second try.

The only thing I’m not sure about is if there are enough hot cross buns to sustain me.

 

Leave a Reply

