Lazy posting: a meme

A meme as a stand-in for a real post. The Queen did not command me personally, but you know how it is with royalty. Best to take up their suggestions, just in case.

What were you doing 10 years ago?

I think that I was living in Sheffield, UK, with my boyfriend at the time. I was working for a now-defunct publisher of biblical studies monographs and journals. The publishing company was very small and very amateur and run on such a shoe-string budget that often, we could not print out our CRC because we didn’t have any paper because we hadn’t paid the bill. There were four of us in the editorial office, and we had two computers and two ‘phones between us. We kept our manuscripts in cat litter trays, because they are just the right size for A-4 paper and they stacked well on the shelves.

I was also spending a lot of time hanging out at a great Italian cafe called Nonna’s, where I would go en route to work to get my morning cappuccino and to do The Times quick crossword. My friend Rebecca and I would spend Saturday mornings there, chatting over coffee; then we’d head into town and visit a local art gallery where we got to know the owner; then off to the Proud Potato for lunch (for excellent baked potatoes); then off for a bit of shopping. By late afternoon we would end up back at Nonna’s, this time drinking champagne instead of coffee.

Five snacks I enjoy in a perfect, non-weight gaining world:

Cheese and crackers

Greek yoghurt and honey

Tea and biscuits

Pringles

Cake

 

Five snacks I enjoy in the real world:

Cheese and crackers

Non-fat Greek yoghurt with honey

Wasabi peas

Veggie chips

Kashi cereal bars

 

Five things I would do if I were a billionaire:

Buy my parents and sister their dream houses.

Buy us a house in England and one in the US; and perhaps a little place in Italy.

Give up work for a bit to study.

Donate to a variety of charities: environmental, educational, human rights, and medical for those who can’t afford medical insurance.

Purchase some wonderful shoes, bags and jeans.

 

Five jobs that I have had:

Sales assistant in H. Samuels (cheap jewellery chain store)

Summer cleaner of machinery in Pirelli tyre factor in Carlisle

Lab assistant in VisionExpress opticians (yes, I made people’s specs for them)

Departmental secretary in the School of Nursing and Midwifery at Sheffield University

Editorial Director of a military history publishing company

Five habits

Biting my nails

Maintaining duplicate calendars and address books, real and virtual

Checking my Netvibes page

Getting manicures

Intending to go to the gym but talking myself out of it

 

 Five places I have lived:

Birmingham, UK (the middle)

London, UK (the south)

Manchester, UK (the north)

Oxford, UK (the south)

Easton, CT

Tagging Zoesmom, as an easy way back into blogging after her holiday

Author: musingsfromthesofa

I've run out of books. Again.

6 thoughts on “Lazy posting: a meme”

  1. I do miss those Saturdays. Although they were quite ruinously expensive!

  2. I like the one about intending to go to the gym and then talking yourself out of it. I relate to that one! Always interesting to read these memes and get a glimpse into a blogger’s life!

  3. Litlove _ Surprisingly, I’ve been talking myself back into going to the gym so far this week. But that’s rare. I find the trick is not to think about it at all and simply to go. If only that always worked!

  4. I like your billionaire choices!! and have you been back to visit Sheffield since leaving? I have to say I prefer your choices in a non-fat world to the ‘real’ choices – I note the lack of any chocolate on that list!!! and your old Saturdays sound fantastic – completely free days to wander around *sigh* great meme, Becky!

Leave a comment